Fight the Good Fight

by Christian Thomas Golden

Failing to submit to God’s will is typically symptomatic of (1) fear and/or (2) pride. We fear the friction created as our flesh meets the Spirit. We’ve created our own plan, having decided out of pride that God must agree with our creation (but we never really asked for His input). Either way, a failure to submit to God’s will is the manifestation of lack of faith in God.

That does not mean that there is a complete lack of faith. Just the opposite! Every act indicates faith. Faith in what? In the case of fear, it is faith in the known. In the case of pride, it is faith in your own physical/intellectual strength. Faith in God, on the other hand, manifests itself in the wilful submission of one’s fear and pride in order to receive, internalize, and walk according to the will of God.

Now, the end result (acting according to faith in God) of faith in God might look identical to the manifestation of fear and/or pride. You know, however, how you’ve allocated your faith.

1 Samuel 16:7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

Simple? Yes. Easy? No! It is a fight! It is like water that has become contaminated with rust from sitting in a can that has rusted with time. Fear says, “this rust sure is nasty, but I’m not sure I could live without it!” Pride says, “I’ll find a way to purify myself from this rust!” God says, “I am purity. Accept me and be purified. Accept me and accept the power to be master over the rust. You might still welcome it from time to time, but by the power of my name it can no longer bind itself to you. Accept me and remain in the can, but be not of the can. Fight the rust in the power of my name until the day you evaporate into the purity of my dwelling place where there is no rust.”

Fight with all your heart, according to your faith.

Jeremiah 17:10 “I the LORD search the heart and examine the mind, to reward each person according to their conduct, according to what their deeds deserve.”

So, the state of our heart, mind, and conduct indicates the state of our faith. The Lord is no fool. He knows the state of our being better we do ourselves. If you are struggling (as I am) with your current state, go to the One who is omniscient! Go to the One who is omnipotent! Allow Him to allocate to you the mindset, skills, and weapons necessary to lead a victorious fight! This isn’t just a fight on behalf of the kingdom of God. This is a fight to reinforce and strengthen your relationship with God! You are His son! You are His brother! You are His friend! HE IS YOUR KING!

Ah, but there are other things I need to do for now. Oh well. Maybe next year.

