Freedom Defined

This is the first in what will be a series of posts on freedom. It seems most appropriate to begin with a discussion regarding the definition of freedom.

Please include your definition of freedom along with a list of word associations (words that come to mind when you think of freedom). I’ll start.

Freedom: one’s ability to think and act according to his or her own will.

Freedom: responsibility, accountability, anxiety, maturity, wisdom, folly, rebellion, anarchy, power, and courage.

4 Comments

  1. I agree with your definition, I might add “without restriction from external forces”.

    For the word association list I would add truth, nature, life, peace, and justice.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, you are the only one who’s responded thus far. Your input certainly adds to what I’ve written. Let’s hope that more people chime in. This post is all about how individuals differ (or concur) in their perspectives regarding freedom. I’m looking forward to “hearing” other peoples’ inputs. Thank again.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?