One Man’s Proclamations and Prayers

by Christian Thomas Golden

A great spiritual tool of mine has been this: to read scriptures, write them out, and rephrase them to read out loud as proclamations and prayers.

For example: Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Proclamation: Lord, you know the plans you have for me: plans to prosper me and not harm me, plans to give me hope and a future.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for knowing the plans you have for me: to prosper me and not harm me, to give me a hope and a future.

Example: 2 Corinthians 1:3-5 Blessed [be] the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also abounds through Christ.

Proclamation/Prayer: Be blessed Father God for you are the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts me in all my tribulation, that I may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which I myself am comforted by you. For as your sufferings abound in me, so my consolation also abounds through you.

And so on. You’ll see that I reword in a way that makes it a direct communication between myself and God. I find that as I continue to repeat such prayers and proclamations, I experience a subtle but very real improvement in my attitudes and reactions related to conflicts which would normally have induced some level of anxiety in my life.

Take it or leave it, it works for me! Maybe it’ll work for you, too. Thanks again for your time.

