Planting, Watering, and Dusting

by Christian Thomas Golden

Explaining my thoughts to children. Explaining my thoughts to a child. Explaining my thoughts to an abused child. Explaining my thoughts to a neglected child. Explaining my thoughts to a child consumed by fear, anxiety, anger, depression, and hate. Explaining the value of life to a child possessed by death. Explaining the meaning of life to a child possessed by death. Explaining the purpose of life to a child possessed by death.

 

I have not lifted myself so high as to believe that I can discover the fail-proof formula for instilling purpose, meaning, love, courage, strength, wisdom, and power into such a child’s life. No. I have not even lifted myself so high as to believe I can dispel from such a child any of his fear, anxiety, anger, depression, or hate.

 

I am asking God to teach me to discern the true state of these children. I am asking God to expose the hearts of these children, so that I can allow God to lead me through the process of teaching the children the path to a meaningful and purposeful life for the glory of God.

 

I am asking myself to then be obedient in whatever way God leads me. Even if it means I must “shake off the very dust from my feet.” – Luke 9:5

