Magnetic

by Christian Thomas Golden

If God told me, “Christian, it is my will that you immediately arise and go speak to Mr. Smith about myself and Truth,” and I felt it would be far too uncomfortable to do so, would I not be prioritizing my comfort over the will of my Creator? It is clearly a foolish thing when looked at on paper, but comfort is quite magnetic. Ah, this is an interesting thought to follow. If comfort is – so to speak – magnetic, what material does it draw to itself? In other words, as a magnet pulls (or is pulled) toward certain material, what within us is drawn toward comfort (or draws comfort to itself)? Moreover, how do we rid ourselves of such? I suppose we could induce/deduce after studying comfort and ourselves. First, let’s look at comfort.

What is comfort? Is it the familiar? To an extent. Isn’t it possible, though, for a familiar thing to be uncomfortable? What is comfort? A couch is comfortable. A chair is comfortable. A job is, in a sense, comfortable. A temperature can be comfortable. A certain degree and color of light can be comfortable. A certain smell can bring comfort. A certain taste can bring comfort. Routines can be comfortable. An interruption may be uncomfortable, as well as a bad taste, smell, sound, brightness, darkness, chair, bed, color, job, etc. We are getting somewhere. Somewhere along this temperance of comfort and discomfort we will find a definition of comfort. Is it too much to say that “not-comfort” is change? So, then, not-change would be comfort? No, a change may bring more or less comfort (warmer, cooler, brighter, dimmer). Well, hang it all, what is comfort?! Is comfort simply what I like? What I know? Oh, perhaps it’s some sort of meeting of the two (what I like and what I know). Comfort is what I know I like. Yes. That will do.

So, comfort (what I know I like) is a magnet which, at times, may pull me away from the will of God. So, then, how do I, at those times during which comfort is an opposing force to God’s will, overcome comfort in favor of the will of God? Well, if comfort is what I know I like, what makes God’s will an opposing force? Clearly, comfort is only in opposition to God’s will when God’s will is not what I know I like. God’s will, apparently (at such times) must look something like “what I know I don’t like,” “what I don’t know I don’t like,” or “what I don’t know I like.” The first category is likely to be a very difficult one to overcome. What I know I don’t like (of course, God knows better) can be easily written off as “clearly not the will of God.” After all, why would God want me to suffer like that?! The other two categories are potentially a bit easier to battle. After all, comfort is only opposing a force I may or may not enjoy. Why not give it a try? Now, the severity of these battles will depend on many variables (too many to list, the complexity of the individual being just one variable which contains an infinite number of variables in itself).

Ah! I asked the wrong question! I should not have asked how to get rid of whatever material within us magnetizes us towards comfort! I should, instead have asked, “how do I maximize the magnetic pull towards God’s will?!”

The answer? Read, pray, and do. Well, now…

