One Man’s Target Audience

by Christian Thomas Golden

I’ve thought a lot about my target audience.

What is my target audience? Who are they? Is my actual audience reflective of my target audience? If not, why? Is that a good thing? Why? Is it not a good thing, and why?

I would be lying if I said I wouldn’t like to make a living off of my writing. I’d also be lying if I said I wouldn’t like nice, big, shiny, expensive things. I don’t define my well-being on the presence or absence of those things, but it’d be nice to have them!

That being said, today’s daily prompt asked me to choose between have a limited dedicated following or millions of fans.

Well, which one would enable my dream?

Millions of fans!

There’s no rule that says I can’t still write works aimed at a more dedicated limited audience as well. In fact, breaking through with a wider audience (by definition) allows me to reach a larger population. I could always write under various pen names.

Of course, before I get too far ahead of myself, I should probably get to work on making my first penny from writing.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-bookish-choice/

